EDTECH 597: Developing a Chocolate App Thats Good Enough to Eat!

These are three of the screens from my “Christmas Chocolate” mobile app. It’s likely that some features will change as I continue developing this app.

It doesn’t seem possible that we could be in week 12 of school, but I’m pleased to be here, because I’ve learned so much in my apps class. I’ve gone from someone who had no clue about designing apps to someone who now has enough background to move forward with confidence into the final weeks, even if I’m not completely certain about how I’m going to build one of the components of the app (my timer feature).

Chocolate on Google Trends

As I mentioned last week, I’ve decided on a chocolate-themed app to help promote my Examiner.com food column. I’ve done some additional research on Google Trends and found out that the most searches for chocolate are in the month of December. I’ve also searched on Google Keyword Tool and found that people are starting to search for terms like “chocolate app,” “mobile chocolate,” and “mobile phone chocolate.” This tells me that it’s not only a good time to roll out the app, but this research also gives me a clue about what kinds of keywords I should use in my article title and body. The more I’m aligned with what people are searching for on the web, the more successful this part of the app launch will be.

Below are two graphics of Google Trends, which show the results of people’s searches for the keyword “chocolate.”

This graphic shows a keyword search for “chocolate mobile apps.”

The graphic below shows how people have searched for the term “chocolate” over the period of a few years. Information like this is useful when you’re developing online content or trying to market something.

This graphic shows a Google Trends search for the word “chocolate.” As you can see, the term peaks at the end of the year, making a Christmas time roll out of a chocolate app logical.

Building and then Rebuilding

Right now, I’ve gotten most of the visual components worked out and some of the operational bugs. I was most concerned about creating the splash screen and making a functioning list feature for the recipe portion of the app. At the moment, my app has seven pages. There will be more, but the basic seven represent every type of page that I’ll be dealing with. It’s likely that once I get all the components placed, I’ll start the app from scratch, so that my file isn’t too large and so that I’ll eliminate any visual elements that don’t please me as much right now. But I have plenty of time for that in the coming weeks.

I’m really pleased with how much I’ve learned in this class. It’s surprises me, actually, considering that I didn’t have a lot of confidence in my ability to program anything. But now I have this tool that I can really leverage to help me move my writing business to the next level.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

