School Evaluation Summary

I have to say that the School Evaluation Summary—or in my case, former workplace evaluation summary—was really challenging and not necessarily for the reasons that I thought when I first started out to do the project. What I found really challenging was to try to remain objective. Even thought I hadn’t worked at this job for a number of years, I felt like I would “get into trouble” for saying something negative about the technology set up in the office, although in all fairness, those existed when I worked for the company and was ultimately one of the reasons that I left. I brought my own assessments of the technology issue to the attention of the powers that be, but they were never solved.

What the years in between and the information that we learned in this assignment did give me was the ability to identify specific issues that were causing technology problems in the workplace, some of which surprised me. For example, I always knew budget was my employer’s concern when it came to buying new technology, but it wasn’t until I did this assignment that I realized that it was also his reluctance to learn new technology that prevented him from upgrading some of the office systems.

The Most Important Lesson From this Assignment

These two elements played off of one another. It wasn’t a surprise after I had finished the assessment that we could move forward. When I initially started the assignment I had more than a bit of residual irritation about the situation, but once I really started looking at it from a more critical perspective, I was able to be a bit more compassionate about the way technology was approached.

What I found most ironic about this was that the company required up-to-date technology in order to create its products, one of which was a series of training manuals for a flight school/ company. As the head graphic designer, any technology I knew, I taught myself with the occasional seminar thrown in. (I speak about those in my assessment.)

Using this in the Future

I have a feeling that the skills I’ve learned with this assignment will come in handy, but in a way that I don’t yet foresee. The same thing happened to me with regards to the Zotero assignment. At the time, it seemed tedious to do, but now I use that software all the time as a writer, and I can’t imagine how I functioned without such a tool. I think the school evaluation will be like that. I would imagine in my own writing business, I’ll be doing an assessment like this in the next year or so as I upgrade my technology. It should not only save me some time in the long run, but money as well, because I’ll be forced to look at the whole picture of how I use technology. This will ultimately help me make a better decision about what I choose.

Useful Free Stuff

On a side note, but maybe one that will be appreciated, I discovered a website that allows you to make graphics and pie charts for free. There are several on the web, but I chose this one, because it was so easy to use, although I didn’t realize until hindsight that one of my pie charts looks like Pac-Man. :-p

Here are my two documents:


And here is a breakdown of the AECT Standards for this assignment. They’re in my links/ tags as well.
4.2 Resource Management
Resource management involves planning, monitoring, and controlling resource support systems and services.
5.1 Problem Analysis
Problem analysis involves determining the nature and parameters of the problem by using information-gathering and decision-making strategies.
5.2 Criterion-Referenced Measurement
Criterion-referenced measurement involves techniques for determining learner mastery of pre-specified content.
5.3 Formative and Summative Evaluation
Formative evaluation involves gathering information on adequacy and using this information as a basis for further development. Summative evaluation involves gathering information on adequacy and using this information to make decisions about utilization.
5.4 Long-Range Planning
Long-range planning that focuses on the organization as a whole is strategic planning….Long-range is usually defined as a future period of about three to five years or longer. During strategic planning, managers are trying to decide in the present what must be done to ensure organizational success in the future.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Buffy,
    Like your environment and technology learning levels, I too have a similar learning level gap at my institution. I know that their can be much frustration which looms about because of such a gap. like you, I have found that some are just too set in their ways to change. What an unfortunate predicament they are in.

    Reply
    • Hey Greg,

      Thanks so much for your feedback. I have to be honest and say I was very, very relieved when I read your assessment. I was afraid that mine was too “negative,” because most everyone in the work environment didn’t want changes that would have really helped. I tried to be as tactful as I could when writing but I really thought, “Wow. I think my honesty might get me in trouble.” When I saw that you had similar issues, I not only felt better, but I realized that my assessment of technology problems = human problems was pretty accurate.

      Thanks again for the kind words.

      Cheers,
      Buffy

      Reply

Leave a Reply

